Closed on Mondays
VisitTicketsCalendarClosed on Mondays

Tue 10 am–9 pm
Wed to Sun 10 am–6 pm
Mon closed
The MAK's collection of lace, and its holdings of glassware—especially Venetian glass—are considered among the finest and most varied in the world. Even in the Baroque period, Venetian glasswork was particularly treasured, and both men and women spent vast sums on the sumptuous lace decoration that fashion demanded.
MAK – Museum of Applied Arts
While glass-making is one of the oldest handicraft techniques in the world, the history of lace-making only begins in the late Renaissance period, probably in Italy. A distinction is made between needlepoint lace and bobbin lace, but combinations of the two techniques are often seen. Florence, and later Venice and Milan, were the centers of Italian lace-making in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, before lace-making in France and Flanders began during the eighteenth century.
 
Venice was the center of European glass-making from the Middle Ages onwards. Around 1500, Venetian glass-makers succeeded in producing clear, colorless glass. Glassblowing spread from Venice across the whole of Europe. In the north, centering on Bohemia and Silesia, there was a preference for harder glass that could be decorated with relief or intaglio engraving, or glass decorated with enamel, Schwarzlot ("black solder"), or gold. This presentation of glasswork and lacework is not based only on art-historical criteria, but also on the visual effects of the materials—their "transparency", material delicacy, and the virtuosity of the craftsmanship involved in their production—which may today be the aspect of them that arouses the greatest admiration. / Angela Völker (curator of the MAK Textiles and Carpets Collection during the phase of the reinstallation of the MAK Permanent Collection in the early 1990s)
Artistic intervention:
Franz Graf
MAKtour
Every week you can explore our permanent collections anew together with our art educators. Each time they focus on something different, with fascinating stories, insights, and background information on the exhibits.
 
every Friday, 4.30 pm (in English) 
every Sunday, 11 am 
Experience the MAK by listening! Explore the MAK with the digital MAK Guide. Audio pieces and high-resolution images offer you an entirely new access to MAK objects and their stories. Free of charge and without download on your mobile at guide.MAK.at
Artistic intervention
Franz Graf
A design intention = states of affairs. The wealth of appearances. The legacy of those who were here before us = the form of actions, our inheritance = memory: museums are also, like cemeteries, our quiet bliss: because the nature of the encounter also gives rise to understanding: it seems there can be no truth concerning this, but only original, brilliant works: silence is the word extinct. Because the same thing once meant something else: because the essence of things is forever dead, and its material properties maintain this expansion into a different world: because a past exists that the living individual can reach into and at least the possibility is hinted at of coming to an end through oneself and beyond with the early ***** appearance. / Franz Graf
 
Biography Franz Graf
Born 1954 in Tulln, Lower Austria. Lives and works in Vienna. Franz Graf is one of the most important representatives of a neo-conceptual position. His innovative combinations of divergent media such as drawing, photography, and installation repeatedly lead to new and open structures. The spectrum of his motifs ranges from abstract to ornamental, figurative and emblematic, or to factual representations of reality made with the camera.

Calendar

Montags geschlossen
BesuchTicketsKalenderMontags geschlossen

Di 10–21 Uhr
Mi bis So 10–18 Uhr
Mo geschlossen
Die Spitzensammlung des MAK sowie der Bestand vor allem an venezianischen Gläsern zählt heute zu den schönsten und vielfältigsten der Welt. Venezianische Gläser galten schon im Barock als besondere Kostbarkeiten und für die von der Mode geforderten üppigen Spitzendekorationen konnten Frauen und Männer Unsummen ausgeben.
MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst
Während die Glasherstellung zu den ältesten kunsthandwerklichen Techniken gehört, beginnt die Geschichte der Spitze erst in der Spätrenaissance, wahrscheinlich in Italien. Man unterscheidet zwei Arten, Näh- und Klöppelspitzen, oft sieht man aber auch Kombinationen aus beiden Techniken. Die italienischen Zentren befanden sich zuerst in Florenz, dann in Venedig und Mailand, bevor man im 18. Jahrhundert in Frankreich und Flandern Spitzen erzeugte.
 
Zentrum der europäischen Glasproduktion war seit dem Mittelalter Venedig. Um 1500 gelang es dort, das reine, farblose Glas herzustellen. Von hier verbreitete sich die Glasbläserei über ganz Europa. Im Norden, mit Böhmen und Schlesien als Zentren, schätzte man härteres Glas, das mit Schnitt und Schliff verziert werden konnte oder Gläser mit Email-, Schwarzlot- und Golddekor. Die Zusammenstellung von Gläsern und Spitzen geht aber nicht nur von kunsthistorischen Gesichtspunkten aus, vielmehr ebenso von der parallelen optischen Wirkung der Materialien, der „Durchsichtigkeit", ihrer materiellen Delikatesse und der handwerklichen Virtuosität der Herstellung, die heute vielleicht die größte Bewunderung findet. / Angela Völker, Kuratorin (zur Zeit der Neuaufstellung Kustodin der MAK-Sammlung Textilien und Teppiche)
Künstlerische Intervention:
Franz Graf
MAKtour
Gemeinsam mit unserer Kunstvermittlung haben Sie die Gelegenheit, unsere Schausammlungen jede Woche neu zu erkunden. Jedes Mal wird ein anderer Schwerpunkt gesetzt mit spannenden Geschichten zu Objekten, Einblicken und Hintergründen.
 
Jeden Freitag, 16.30 Uhr (in Englisch) 
Jeden Sonntag, 11 Uhr 
Das MAK hörend erleben! Erkunden Sie das MAK mit dem digitalen MAK Guide. Audiostücke und hochauflösendes Bildmaterial lassen Sie MAK-Objekte und ihre Geschichten auf ganz neue Art erleben. Kostenlos und ohne Download am eigenen Smartphone unter guide.MAK.at 
Künstlerische Intervention
Franz Graf
Eine Intention zur Gestaltung = Sachverhalte. Der Reichtum der Erscheinungen. Der Nachlass der Menschen, die schon vor uns da waren = die Gestalt der Handlungen, unsere Erbschaft = die Erinnerung: Museen sind auch wie Friedhöfe unser stilles Glück: Weil durch die Natur der Begegnung auch Verständnis verursacht wird: Es scheint, dass es keine Wahrheit darüber geben kann, aber originale und geniale Arbeiten: Schweigen ist das Wort erloschen. Weil dasselbe etwas anderes bedeutet hat: Weil das Wesen der Dinge immer tot ist und seine materiellen Eigenschaften diese Ausdehnung in eine andere Welt bewahren: Weil eine Vergangenheit existiert, die das lebende Individuum erreicht und zumindest die Möglichkeit bedeutet wird, zu Ende zu gehen durch sich selbst hinaus mit dem frühen ***** Schein. / Franz Graf
 
Kurzbiografie Franz Graf
Geboren 1954 in Tulln, Niederösterreich, lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Franz Graf zählt zu den wichtigsten Vertretern einer neokonzeptuellen Haltung. Er verbindet in seinen Arbeiten oft konträre Medien wie Zeichnung, Fotografie und Installation, deren Kombination immer wieder zu einer neuen und offenen Struktur in seinem Werk führen. Die Bandbreite seiner Motive umfasst Abstraktion, Ornamentales, Figuratives, Symbolisches, Emblematisches sowie die faktische Abbildung der Wirklichkeit mit der Kamera.

Kalender